XTS5000 Screen Text

Discussion of Astro 25 Proprietary Features and Settings, specific to Motorola Radios
Forum rules
The requesting of licensed software is strictly prohibited.
Post Reply
ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by ASRM » Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:31 pm

I recently purchased a few XTS5000's one I got is a model 2 from a pretty reputable seller on eBay.

I create a codeplug on my XTS5000 Model 3 FPP and then proceeded to basically do a side by side of the configuration settings and copied over with the drag n drop method to the Model 2.

Oddly on the Model 2 I have this displaying on the second line below the Zone Mode/Channel name and above the Menu items

Image

It displays ASTRO P25 on all the screens.

My Model 3 doesn't do this,

Image

Looked everywhere I can to see if there is like a Dealer Name or something, I know Vertex did this, from the admin drop-down,

Is this something that was flashed in? Or am I missing some secret squirrel location here?

Hopefully that is all the pestering I do this month ;)
User avatar
Notarola
Site Staff
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by Notarola » Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:37 pm

look at the zone info, alias. the same for channel alias.
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by ASRM » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:09 pm

Where would that be, I looked and I have the field to add a name to the Zone, it only allows 3 letters since I wanted more Channel name real-estate.

Is this some function embedded deeper?
User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by motorola_otaku » Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:03 pm

That's the Radio Alias field. It's under one of the Radio Wide menus.
ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by ASRM » Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:16 pm

I thought that at first, but I have looked at all the Radio Wide settings, not a clue. I think I will just ask the seller, he has a large YouTube channel, SnarlingRabidDog I think is the handle.
User avatar
Notarola
Site Staff
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by Notarola » Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:02 pm

The alias feilds are in the trunking personality and conventional personality sections of the codeplug.
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by ASRM » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:44 pm

Ack, just closed the CPS and opened my email. I will look when I get back to the office.

If I can set what I want I could see using it to ID my Radios
ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by ASRM » Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:55 am

I looked again, I see nothing with that test box, I did notice when I switch to a secure channel it will flash the Key Alias, in the spot where the ASTRO P25 resides.
User avatar
RadioRookie
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Between a rock and a hard place

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by RadioRookie » Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:12 pm

Go to "Radio Wide" - General, and then scroll down to User Information. You should see "Radio ID Alias Enable".
“When you tell somebody something, it depends on what part of the country you're standing in as to just how dumb you are.”
User avatar
RadioRookie
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Between a rock and a hard place

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by RadioRookie » Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:16 pm

[img]
IMAG0860.jpg
[/img]
“When you tell somebody something, it depends on what part of the country you're standing in as to just how dumb you are.”
User avatar
Notarola
Site Staff
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: XTS5000 Screen Text

Post by Notarola » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:34 pm

At least you will know when you find the alias field as the test will say "ASTRO P25"
[paypal]Donate[/paypal]
Post Reply