HT600 Programming

Waris Series Radio Discussion
Forum rules
The requesting of licensed software is strictly prohibited.
ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

HT600 Programming

Postby ASRM » Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:48 pm

I have a few HT600's I got from a fellow forum member and wanted to get acclimated to programming the HT600 line. I am running into some questions.

These are UHF in the low split of 403-433 MHz range want to put them in the 438-470 range for Ham/GMRS.

I see I can actually change the split under F4 and the F9 key, or so it seems. Am I reading that right?

Also when I go to program any PL's or DPL's under F2 I can do 4 modes with various options but when I go to F6 it won't let me select the PL's or DPL's except the first one entered.

Does anyone have a link to a how to on the 600's, for some reason my RSS doesn't have a help file.

I was going to list them on FleaBay and offer up programming since most of the folks out there have no RSS, cables or even a PC that can run them.

Doing mine off a Toughbook CF-29 using a USB thumb to boot in DOS since this guy runs XP. Love the Toughboox though :)

User avatar
Foxtrotdelta
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:39 pm
Location: Midlothian, VA

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby Foxtrotdelta » Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:41 pm

They cannot be range-changed that easily, unfortunately. If you haven't already been to this particular site, here's a wealth of excellent information on the HT600s and other Genesis series portables: http://www.repeater-builder.com/motorol ... index.html

User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby Notarola » Sun Sep 17, 2017 4:11 pm

I actually have a pair of HT600s.

The Ht600 band ranges are limited by the VCO and its not practical to modify the VCOs. There are a ton of HT600/p200/mt1000/mt2000 on ebay. and the prices are good. I would suggest a 450-470 unit and go from there.

Its been a while since I used the RSS so I had to resort to reading about them again. The units are capable of only doing the 4 configurations although you can select any of the 4 for any channel.

from the repeater builder site

(1) one tone PL, one DPL, one quickcall
(2) two tone PLs, one DPL
(3) three tone PLs, one DPL
(4) one tone PL, three DPLs.

from my memory the firmware looks at the binary value above and then reads the values from the allocated memory table.

The radios came in a 2 or 6 channel version where as the MT1000 were 8 or 16. the 2000 were up to 99 ch as they have a channel number display and up/down buttons.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby motorola_otaku » Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:05 pm

Notarola wrote:The radios came in a 2 or 6 channel version where as the MT1000 were 8 or 16. the 2000 were up to 99 ch as they have a channel number display and up/down buttons.

The 99-channel version is still a MT1000 (Genesis series.) MT2000 is a Jedi-series portable and is basically a MTS2000 without trunking or Flashport upgrade capability.

ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby ASRM » Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:15 pm

These HT600's are 6 channel, I did just get 12 MT2000. So they are 99 channel, nice to know.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby motorola_otaku » Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:30 pm

He was right about MT1000s also coming in 8 and 16-channel versions. If it has a channel knob it's one of those, if it has buttons and a LCD display it's 99-channel.

User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby Notarola » Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:01 pm

I used to have lowband version of the 1000 99 ch unit. Its a shame now I sold it at dayton one year.






User avatar
MOTechGuy
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:56 pm
Location: Ø Land

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby MOTechGuy » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:37 am

Notarola wrote:I used to have lowband version of the 1000 99 ch unit. Its a shame now I sold it at dayton one year.


I bought a 10m lowband one this year at Hamvention. They are GREAT! Slightly retuned the RX and it is fun to put on the table and listen to the distant repeaters come in.
Make Amateur Radio Great Again! Use P25 and DMR on the ham bands.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:53 pm

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby motorola_otaku » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:48 pm

I have a 42-50 radio that came from NC DOT. One of these days I'll get around to converting it to 6 meters. :lol:

What are y'all running for ham band antennas? I figured I could trim a 47 MHz duck down to 52 MHz, but finding one for 29 MHz that isn't a hamsexual telescoping whip might be problematic.

User avatar
MOTechGuy
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:56 pm
Location: Ø Land

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby MOTechGuy » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:51 pm

I'm using a Motorola NAB6064B antenna. The directions that come with it explain how to stretch the coil out just slightly so it works better on 10m. They also explain how to cut it for 6m. It works really well and doesn't look too hamsexual.
Make Amateur Radio Great Again! Use P25 and DMR on the ham bands.

ASRM
CTF Team Supporter
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby ASRM » Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:17 pm

MOTechGuy wrote:hamsexual.


:lol:

User avatar
Notarola
Site Admin
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: HT600 Programming

Postby Notarola » Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:53 pm

Mine was a 6m unit. I dont remember what was done about the antenna though.







Return to “Waris Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest